School Council

The role of School Council is to support the Principal in the running of the school.


All government schools in Victoria have a School Council. They are legally formed bodies that are given powers to set the directions of a school within centrally provided guidelines. In doing this a School Council is able to directly influence the quality of education that the school provides for its students.


School Council does not manage the day to day running of the school. For example, it does not employ teaching staff, decide which classes students will be assigned to, or sort out issues relating to individual teachers and students and/or parents. Nor does it discuss individual issues relating to teachers or staff or parents – these are very clearly management roles, and therefore the principal's job. School Councillors are not appointed to represent specific interest groups or permit special interests to dominate the agenda of the council.


Meeting Dates


The School Council meets once a month. For exact dates please check the newsletter or call the office.


Membership of School Council:


There are 15 members of School Council at Montrose Primary School. Within this there are three categories of members:


  • A mandated elected parent category (10 members).
  • A mandated elected DEECD employee category (5 members).
  • An optional community member category who is co-opted for a period of two years (0 members).


The Principal is an ongoing member of School Council.


The term of office for all elected members is two years. Half the members must withdraw each year and may stand for re-election, creating vacancies for the annual school council elections. Parents on school councils help shape the direction of the school through their input to debate issues within Council’s responsibility. You can become involved by voting in the elections, which are held in Term 1 each year, or standing for election or encouraging others to stand for election.


The 2023 Montrose Primary School School Council


Parent Member Category:


Bree Kuffer (President), Mandy Walles (Vice President), Adrian Wilson (Treasurer), Rhianna McIntosh, Fiona Naisbitt, Colleen Thompson, Glen Chalmers, Stacey Crowhurst, Lisa Keating & Lisa Koster. 


DEECD Member Category:


Kylie Fisher, Glenn Storr, Mia Schubert, Tully Henchel & Linda Campbell


School Council Document

© Copyright 2023 Montrose Primary School